Jonne - Vocals, guitar
Cane - Guitar
Jarkko - Bass
Juho - Accordion
Hittavainen - Traditional instruments
Matson - Drums

Korpiklaani is a folk metal band from Lahti, Finland formed in 2003. Korpiklaani is the new name of the band previously calledShaman, that was formed by Jonne Järvelä who still remains the mastermind of Korpiklaani. Whilst Shaman recorded songs in the original Saami language, Korpiklaani recorded most songs in English at first, and mostly Finnish lyrics on their most recent albums.

The music of Korpiklaani ranges from the violin-and-guitar paean to the Finnish god of fermentation Pellonpekko, to the “typical” themed metal Wooden Pints, to Crows Bring The Spring, which is strongly reminiscent of “Ride the Lightning” era Metallica.

There has been some collaboration between Korpiklaani and other bands from the folk metal scene, such as Finntroll, for which Järvelä provided the yoiking for the title track of their album Jaktens Tid, and Skiltron, for which Järvelä provided vocals on the track ‘Praying is Nothing’ from their second full-lenght album.

In the year 2007 Korpiklaani left napalm records to sign with Nuclear Blast Records. They released their new album “Korven Kuningas” in 2008, touring Europe and playing some festivals shortly afterwards. In 2009, they toured the United States and Canada as the headliners for Paganfest II.

Ever since they released their debut album “Spirit Of The Forest” in 2003, Finns KORPIKLAANI have continuously made their way to the top of the “Humppa” metal scene – even though they lovingly named their unique sound “Pelimanni metal”! Their last album “Karkelo” ( “Party”) was released in 2009 and set high standards in terms of fun-loving Finnish metal straight from the woods and boasted a vast selection of unusual and exotic instrumentation.

On “Ukon Wacka”, their seventh album, KORPIKLAANI took things even further: seven-string guitars, mandoline, mandola and jouhikko are just a few of the instruments that were used on “Ukon Wacka”. The album title refers to “a pagan sacrificial feast from ancient times, on which a special made beer richly flowed. As can be expected from the title, this album has an ancient and very folky feel and is totally in Finnish“, frontman Jonne explains. One title doesn`t seem very Finnish though: the drinking anthem „Tequila“ which is dedicated to all South American fans of the band. „Ukon Wacka“ also features a guest appearance by famous Finnish singer Tuomari Nurmio! All in all a joyous affair in the traditional and beloved KORPIKLAANI vein, „Ukon Wacka“ boasts ten party tracks that make you wanna raise that drinking horn up high! Also make sure to grab a limited edition copy of „Ukon Wacka“ to check out the brilliant MOTÖRHEAD cover version bonus track „Iron Fist“! Believe Jonne when he says: „A big folky feast for all!“

Post a Comment